Brides Wanna Know
Officiants are a key element to a wedding, since they make your marriage legit. Find out who can officially ordain your "I Dos."
Officiants are a KEY element to a wedding since they're the ones who not only say "you may kiss the bride" but also make your marriage LEGIT!
Photo Credit :: Visionari
I was wondering if you know whether it is possible to have a friend - just a "regular" person - officiate a wedding? If so, can you help me figure out the process and paperwork necessary? (From a bride!)
What a great question! You must have a very special person in mind to help you two say "I Do". Hawaii's law requires your officiant to be duly licensed by and in the state of Hawaii to perform the marriage ceremony. If you have a friend who would like to become ordained for your wedding ceremony, have them contact the State Dept of Health directly at 586-4545.
And FYI! Here's the step by step to file for a marriage license.
- You and your groom must go to the Health Department Building (1250 Punchbowl St.) Monday through Friday (excluding holidays), 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. together anytime 30 days prior to your wedding.
- Be sure to bring TWO forms of official ID with you that has your first and last name and proof of age on it. Drivers license, passports, state IDs are all acceptable!
- You can either download the Hawaii marriage license application or fill one out when you arrive that day. Beware, you will need to know your Mom and Dad's maiden AND middle names, along with your officiants full name! Applications MUST be filed in person with both bride and groom present. Applications will be denied if they come by mail or email.
- A marriage license agent will check over your IDs, make sure you fill out your application correctly and make you take an "oath" swearing that all information provided is legal.
- Your marriage license fee is $60 - CASH! No checks or credit cards are accepted! Nearest ATM is down the block.
- You'll receive a copy of your filled out application stamped by the Health Department marriage license agent. This pink sheet is a copy of the application with the license number that the officiant will need to make your marriage legal. Since January 2012, all ceremony licensing is done online. After your ceremony, the officiant will certify and confirm online that he or she married you. Within 24 business hours you will be able to print a copy of your license from the Department of Health's website to use as official documentation of your marriage. NOTE :: The marriage license is only good in the State of Hawaii and expires 30 days from the issuance date.
Need an officiant? Check out some of our Hawaii wedding officiants HERE who will happily... MARRY ME.